Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People’s Ears

Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People’s Ears

Aadema, V. (1975). Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People’s Ears. New York, New York: First Pied Piper Printing.

This west African Folktale was about a mosquito who goes to an Iguana to tell him something, which causes the iguana to not listen and puts sticks in his ears. This causes another animal to become frightened and then there is a train reaction of events that lead to an owlet being killed. This causes the Mosquito to feel bad and be a pest and buzz in peoples ears.

Fiction

K-2nd

Readers who like African Folktales; Readers who like mosquito’s

rate:4; I thought the book was pretty clever with how the mosquito ended up buzzing in peoples ears. I also really enjoyed the beautiful illustrations.

Questions: Why do you think mosquito’s buzz in peoples ears?

Reading strategy: Character Trait Chart

Teacher would have the students form a lists of characteristics they feel the animals in the book had. The teacher would then instruct the students to form a chart with the characteristics on top and on the side a list of the characters in the book. They then go one by one go through each character and mark each characteristic box that they feel that character had.

Character trait chart helps form a good analysis of characters and helps build vocabulary.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s